Posted on

Saturday Morning Flashback-The 1970’s

tv_01

I had intended this segment to be the first episode of the Star Trek cartoon, but lack of time knocked that one back to next week. So get the ball rolling on this segment I’ll just throw out some general memories of Saturday morning TV in the 1970’s. My brother is year’s older than me so he was Saturday morning TV viewing partner or adversary as the case may have been at times. My earliest memories include funny cartoons like Looney Tunes which was such a Saturday morning staple. I also liked anything that had monsters so Scooby Doo was a huge favorite in the mid 70’s for me. My brother was a huge DC comic fan back then so the Super Friends was one that he always wanted to see. I got bored of that because even though I may have been six I still knew the heroes should be smacking the villains and not wrapping them up with rubber tires. Plus Superman was way too bossy on that show. I much preferred the live action heroics of Shazam and Isis back then anyways. There were certainly some live action shows of the day that influenced me a lot actually two in particular. One was the oh too short lived Monster Squad (not to be confused with the 1987 movie of the same name). I wrote a short post about the Monster Squad months ago. It was made by the same people that did the Batman TV show. This was actually higher in he camp factor than Batman. Hey it was monsters fighting crime. of course I loved it. The other one was The land of the lost which unlike many other shows of my childhood actually stands up well enough now. Yes, I am only referring to the first two seasons. The effects are dated, but the stories were a real attempt to put a decent story line for kids without dumbing it down too much. Back then I enjoyed it for the dinosaurs, sleestak and the action. I remember watching episodes and late that day taking my plastic dinosaurs out to my sand box and acting out that previous morning’s episode. It also seems like I was part of playing Land of the lost with other kids on the playground in first grade. I’m sure I played a sleestak because that would of course be the role I’d want. By the time I was ten or so Saturday mornings were not quite as interesting as in the 70’s. Those days of weeking up runnning to the living room nad watching the above shows while I ate some sugary cereal or pancakes if my dad was in the mood for them are some of the best memories of my childhood.

lotl

About markmc2012

I have watched far too many horror and sc-fi shows in my life. Now I feel the need to share this wealth of knowledge and make others suffer.

Leave a Reply

