Posted on

Holiday movies?

independence-day-movie-image-2

The big holiday for horror fans is of course Halloween. Probably like me a lot of you squeeze a bunch of horror film all during October. Beyond that what holiday films are there for horror, sci-fi and fasntasy films. The holiday that happens tomorrow even has the above film with the same name. I have never watched this film actually. I don’t know if anyone watches it on the 4th or not. The 80’s had numerous cheapie horror films pop up with themes for Christmas, Valentines, Aprils Fool’s and other holidays. I have certain films that I equate to certain seasons and I may watch those during a season. As far as holidays I don’t have so many films that I try to watch on those certain days except that I do try to watch a Leprechaun film for St. Patty’s day.

****Do you watch any films for certain holidays as a tradition?

About markmc2012

I have watched far too many horror and sc-fi shows in my life. Now I feel the need to share this wealth of knowledge and make others suffer.

11 responses to “Holiday movies?

  1. I try to watch movies like these during the holidays, but I always forget.

    Halloween
    Trick ‘r Treat
    Black Christmas
    April Fool’s Day
    My Bloody Valentine
    Prom Night
    Happy Birthday to Me
    Friday the 13th
    Leprechaun

    And here are some others I haven’t seen:

    Easter Bunny, Kill! Kill!
    Thankskilling

  2. Am British and I still watch Independence day 😀

    • That’s cool. I just wasn’t going to the movies a lot in the 90’s and missed a lot of big films like this and have not gotten around to seeing all of them.

  3. I definitely watch these films during these seasons. Sorry, Spring but there are no films I really associate with that season. From like 1996-2004 I watched Dracula 1931 and Halloween back to back every Halloween night. Since then I’ve watched other movies on Halloween. Although with kids and doing activities with them I don’t always get to see a horror movie on Halloween because normally I’m back to work early on the dreaded November 1st.

    Winter-The empire strikes back, Star Trek IV, The invisible man
    Summer-Jurassic Park, Raiders of the lost ark, Planet of the apes
    Fall-Mad Monster Party, Dracula 1931, Halloween

  4. Teepee12

    Yankee Doodle Dandy for today, The Quiet Man (St. Patrick’s Day) and a bunch of stuff for Chrismas. Plus all the golden oldies for Halloween: Dracular, Frankenstein, The Wolfman, and maybe Young Frankenstein just because we need a laugh.

    • I watch some non-sci-fi, horror stuff at Christmas like Muppet’s Christmas Carol and Christmas Vacation. I watch Jingle all the way every year, but that has kind of a superhero element to it.

  5. lauren

    I like to watch a John Carpenter movie for Halloween- with the film Halloween always good for the occassion, but also the Thing and Assult on Precinct 13. Only the originals though, none of the rubbish remakes.

Leave a Reply

