Posted on

The appeal of the haunted house

haunted-house-2048x2048

HauntedHouse

Whether it’s a story, a TV show, a movie or fun house version I have always liked the idea of haunted houses. I remember as a kid watching shows and movies with the dark house on top of the hill with broken windows and being drawn it. After watching whatever it was I would then take to drawing a haunted house with crayons or constructing one from Legos. The second one also normally involved me making a ghost out of a tissue and a bread bag tie so I could move it about in the Lego haunted house. The appeal of these vacant places has still stuck with me over the years as a movie or show with one in it will earn points from me right away. The creaky stairs, paintings with eyes that seem to follow you and other haunted house cliches were always welcome and still are to me.

6a010534a3c8d0970c0105359b8bf3970c-800wi

About markmc2012

I have watched far too many horror and sc-fi shows in my life. Now I feel the need to share this wealth of knowledge and make others suffer.

7 responses to “The appeal of the haunted house

  1. Teepee12

    The Haunting — the original — is one of my all time favorite movies AND all time favorite books. That is rare for me to like both. I too love haunted houses … and GOOD movies about them. And stories. Real and imagined.

  2. Shana Rae

    I’ve actually lived in a couple of haunted houses, I’m known jokingly as a ghost magnet! I love the old style creepy films, where what is not seen is scarier, I don’t need CGI to create monsters, I visualise them with a mere hint of something spooky going on!

  3. Think we all love a haunted house story. The Haunting is one of my favourite films, Hill House is so creepy, with its dark corridors and atmosphere of creeping dread. Brilliant!

Leave a Reply

