Posted on

Haunted house fun house

OldKilborneHauntedHouse

The first time I ever went into a Haunted House fun house was when I was 7. My dad’s work always had this carnival for employees and their families in the summer. I remember going through this funhouse several times that day. It looked like a haunted house on the outside. Inside was a rope spider web with a big fake spider up above, skeletons, glowing monsters behind glass cases and lots of spooky sound effects. It wasn’t quite as cool as I’d hoped, but it was good or good enough that I went through it like 7 times that day. When we take our kids to the carnival every summer they always have a fun house, but it’s never a haunted house as it usually has a circus theme instead. I went to those carnivals at my dad’s work every year they had them which was like from 1975-1981, but that summer of 1977 was the only year they had the haunted house. While I only remember bits and pieces of the what was at the rest of those carnivals I still clearly remember that little haunted house.

***Any great fun house style or pay to get in haunted house stories to share?

About markmc2012

I have watched far too many horror and sc-fi shows in my life. Now I feel the need to share this wealth of knowledge and make others suffer.

7 responses to “Haunted house fun house

  1. Zoë

    Man, I wish! I know they can be so cheesy, but I love it. Wish we had some here, or even just a little Halloween spirit… while everyone overseas grows out of it, we here are finally old enough to grow into it, have our own parties, etc. Oh well!

  2. I have vague memories of not-too-cary haunted houses from the 70s – 80s, but no specific details.

    I want to create one some day, though. I’ve owned this book for years and I think I have it memorized. It’s pretty tame compared to modern haunted houses.

    http://www.amazon.com/Operate-Financially-Successful-Haunted-House/dp/0911137114/

    Gah! Look at that price! Glad I got it when I did.

Leave a Reply

