Posted on

Vampires out west

46607a_lg

Counts and cacti? Fangs and the frontier? Stakes and shootouts?
Anyways the western vampire idea has been here and there over the years, but never that much and usually with quite a bit of cheese factor at times. That’s a shame because I think it’s a combination with merit. Yes, so many films were done with cloak wearing European vampires haunting the shadowed mountains of Europe or maybe some real brave ones went over to England, but they never came over to these shores all that much. Svengoolie will be showing Curse of the undead a late 50’s vampire-cowboy film on his show later this month. The film has never gotten a proper DVD release and I only saw it once on AMC maybe 15 years ago. I remember it being kind of slow, but hoping it holds up since I have not seen it in so long. I reviewed the early 90’s films Sundown the vampire in retreat on this site a while back and it had some real promise. I’ll be taking another view at another vampires in the west (not old west) film when I review John Carpenter’s Vampires at some point this week. I wish the idea of bloodsucking undead in the west had more takers as far as films go. Then again maybe the few that have made are more than enough.

curse-of-the-undead

About markmc2012

I have watched far too many horror and sc-fi shows in my life. Now I feel the need to share this wealth of knowledge and make others suffer.

6 responses to “Vampires out west

  1. I have a weakness for anything in the “supernatural happenings mashed up with western” or weird west genre, even though they are usually silly. I think Near Dark is about the best one of the bunch.

  2. I saw Near Dark at least 20 years ago on video and liked it, but have not seen it since.

  3. Film Jive ⋅

    “Billy the Kid vs. Dracula” was on TCM this past weekend. I found it midly amusing and far more entertaining then the “Jesse James vs. Frankenstein’s Daughter” film. I think the problem with these movies apart from something like “Near Dark” or even Carpenter’s “Vampires” is that the Dracula character is never re-imagined to fit the locale, it’s just sort of runs with the pre-exisiting mythology, which I think should probably be altered.

  4. Both those top films you mentioned do just plop a character in the west without many changes. I remember really liking Curse of the undead because it puts a vampire into the gunfighter role which I thought was an interesting turn.

  5. MojosWork

    Billy the Kid vs Dracula?!?!?!?!?!?!!?!?! Belinda Carlisle was right.

Leave a Reply

