Posted on

Things to be thankful for

svengoolie

I am of course thankful for my family, my health, friends, my cats and a good school system for my kids. I decided to toss out some genre related things that I am currently thankful for. So here they are.

ME-TV- I live out in nowhere and can’t afford cable so I am glad for ME-TV because they show some great old shows like Gilligan’s Island, F-troop, Bob Newhart and more. I am particularly thankful for their sci-fi Saturday line-up of Batman, Lost in Space, Star Trek and Svengoolie showing old horror films.

The Wal-Mart bargain bin-Okay, I buy too many cheap films but I have found some great collections of bad and decent films at Wal-Mart’s $5 bargain bin. Plenty of films to keep this blog going with material for years to come.

Thrift stores-I am cheap and we have to be. Used is okay by me. We live 20 minutes from five different thrift stores. I have found some great clothing finds for my kids this year including shirts with characters like Wolverine, Mario, Scooby Doo, Spider-man and Harry Potter. As well as some shirts for myself including ones of Ghostbusters, Speed Racer, Harry Potter and more.

My job for allowing me to do programs for kids that allow me to share my interests. I programs at the library that I think kids will come to but some tie to into things I really like. In the past year I have done programs on rockets, Star Wars, Super Heroes, Secret Agent training and other topics including several duct tape craft programs.

Sci-fi, horror and fantasy bloggers and the people who read and comment on these blogs. I try to read as many blogs as I can and comment as well. I appreciate all the blogs I follow. I also appreciate anyone who reads and comments on my blog.

There you go.

About markmc2012

I have watched far too many horror and sc-fi shows in my life. Now I feel the need to share this wealth of knowledge and make others suffer.

10 responses to “Things to be thankful for

  1. Happy Thanksgiving Mark. When we hit the skids, (it was 2007 for us but took the rest of the country another 2 years to feel the recession) I was happy that there were lots of programs at the Library to take our kids to for free or at a very low priced. They even have passes to a lot of the local museums and landmarks in our area.

    • That’s cool. We’ve seen an increase in a number of programs over the last 5-7 years. Summer is always our big season because we have the summer reading program. I’m already planning a Star Wars-Science experiment program for next with a co-worker.

  2. Happy Thanksgiving. Your job sounds great, and its nice that you have been able to do so many programmes about Sci-Fi and superheroes. I like reading blogs and comment as well. Cheers for all the great posts and reviews.

  3. Teepee12

    You are welcome. You brighten my day, even though I don’t always comment. I follow and I read 🙂

Leave a Reply

