Posted on

Ten thoughts on the Godzilla movie

 

gfp

My wife had her wisdom teeth removed yesterday so she wasn’t up for the movies today. So I took the kids to see Godzilla and gave my wife chance to rest at home and enjoy the quiet for a few hours. Plus of course we got to take in Godzilla. For trailers there was a cool teaser for the new Planet of the apes films which looked killer, a trailer for the new TMNT film and they don’t look so great but hopefully it will capture the spirit of the characters and there was a trailer for some crap looking film with Tom Cruise that looked like Starship Troopers crossed with Groundhog Day. Anyways then Godzilla started and here are ten thoughts I had on the film in no real order.

1-The acting was adequate and although none of the characters were great they mostly got better as the film went along.

2-I liked that they showed several different locations where events were happening. Monsters really should roam all over.

3-They took their time in bringing Godzilla in and that helped it to be all the more welcome when he did show up.

4-Although the opening scene was sad it drew me to the characters more.

5-The action  was about as steady as I could have asked for.

6-The scenes with Godzilla in the water looked just as good as when he was on land.

7-Going along with numbers 3 and 8 I loved where the kid is seeing Big G and the male monster battling on TV and trying to tell his mom there were dinosaurs fighting on TV.

8-I liked that they waited awhile to focus in on a monster fight. It build up the action and so often these films seem like they are desperate to get the attention off the actors and onto the fight. Here they took the time to build the story before focusing on the monster fights.

9-The mean monsters were very cool in both how they looked and how vicious they were.

10-The ending sets up for a possible sequel.

If you didn’t like Godzilla before you probably won’t have your mind changed by this film. That’s fine by me because a Godzilla film should be about the spirit of the series and not trying to be all things for all people. I think the film did a solid job in appealing to fans of the series while modernizing the tale as well. I was very satisfied with the movie and can’t wait  for it’s DVD release so I can soak it in even more.

About markmc2012

I have watched far too many horror and sc-fi shows in my life. Now I feel the need to share this wealth of knowledge and make others suffer.

10 responses to “Ten thoughts on the Godzilla movie

  1. Abbi ⋅

    I found the whole thing really plodding. I couldn’t wait for it to end.

  2. I liked the film and thought the majority of the film was good, which is a nice change from the 98 version which was mostly bad.

    The visuals and tone worked really well but the characters where lifeless, except Cranston.

    Still bring on MechaGodzilla! 😀

  3. I thought this was great and the true start to the blockbuster season. Nice thoughts man.

  4. Respectable entry into the franchise, althought I do prefer the Toho films 🙂

    • I probably prefer the Toho films too, but will need see this one more than once to really be fair. I have a feeling I will enjoy this one more with each additional viewing once it hits DVD.

  5. I went to see Godzilla at the weekend, really enjoyed it. It had a good story and some amazing effects 😀

Leave a Reply

