Posted on

My history with and quick thoughts on Hammer films

hfp  cushing DRA

I actually the first Hammer movie I saw even though I didn’t know it at was one at the time was One million years B.C.  back in 1986 I think. It was on Creature Feature one night and enjoyed it, but knew nothing of Hammer films at the time. My next brush with Hammer would be 3-4 years later. By this time I was out of school and working a second shift job. When I’d get home I’d see what was on TV and during this period I saw the last half hour of Hammer’s The hound of the Baskervilles and not long after that I witnessed the last hour of The curse of the werewolf. I liked the little I saw, but again I had no idea of what Hammer films was. It wouldn’t until the late 1990’s when AMC was showing a bunch of horror films around Halloween that I began to know about the importance of Hammer. Tim Burton was hosting their monsterfest that year and he talked some about Hammer and what their films meant to him. AMC also showed The Gorgon, When dinosaurs ruled the earth, The Reptile and Dracula prince of darkness at that time. These films had me hooked and had me wanting to see more. So over the next few years I was tracking down all the Draculas, the Frankensteins, the Mummies and more to see them all. Why did I like them? The reasons varied based on the film, but as a whole I loved the gothic look and feel of many the films for starters. Also seeing a lot of the same people was appealing too as people such as Peter Cushing, Christopher Lee, Barbara Shelley, Michael Ripper showed up frequently in these films. Not all of their films were classics, but many were and they had a variety of horror, sci-fi and thrillers. Anyone with any taste could surely find something to like. Honestly I don’t trust anyone who says ” I don’t care for Hammer films”. Each to their own. Hammer revived horror starting at a time when classic monsters were not in fashion and they kept for a number of years. I always look forward to getting time at the end of a Friday or Saturday to sit down, turn down the lights and put on a Hammer film. So I hope you will enjoy the rest of my Hammer films week here at the blog.

About markmc2012

I have watched far too many horror and sc-fi shows in my life. Now I feel the need to share this wealth of knowledge and make others suffer.

4 responses to “My history with and quick thoughts on Hammer films

  1. awesome, look forward to the reviews 🙂

  2. Looking forward to the reviews, I love the old Hammer films. They had a season of repeats on over Christmas, really enjoyed watching them again. The Ghoul was one of the first Hammer Films I ever saw on TV, that was good, then the Hound of the Baskervilles, that’s always been one of my favourites as well. From there I was soon hooked on Dracula, The Mummy, and Frankenstein, and I still enjoy watching them on DVD as well 😀

  3. Horror host Svengoolie is showing Hammer films every Saturday this month over here on METV so that’s been cool too.

Leave a Reply

