Posted on

My history with Conan

Conan_Annual_01-01

I credit my brother for introducing me to Conan via the comics back in the mid-late 1970’s. I was drawn in by the covers and wanted to look at them right away. Even though I was already a super hero fan the swords and monsters of Conan appealed to me as well. I didn’t see the first film until it was TV which was like 83 or 84. By that time I was a comic fanatic and well into the monthly title. I loved the first film and was let down by Conan the destroyer in 1984. It was around that time that I began reading the books-first Robert E. Howard’s works then the other titles by various authors. In the late 80’s I was frequenting a comic store that was clearing out a lot of older titles and I really cleaned up on Conan’s from the mid 70’s to the mid 80’s. That got me back into reading about him once again. I remained a fairly steady reader of the comics and the books up until around 94-95 and then I just got into other books. I still visit the films and comics fairly often and remain a fan. Even though I bought the newer film I have yet to watch, but have to since I plan on reviewing it this week.

There you go.

Conan_usurper

About markmc2012

I have watched far too many horror and sc-fi shows in my life. Now I feel the need to share this wealth of knowledge and make others suffer.

Leave a Reply

