Posted on

Robotron 2084

robotron_(12) robotron800 maxresdefault 0502 Robotron_flyer

1982

This is a multi-directional shooter that borrows some ideas from Defender and Bezerk. You control a robot and you have to save humans while destroying bad robots. You have to dodge their lasers and you can’t bump into them either which can be tough as some of them cannot be destroyed so they are there throughout the level. After destroying every foe you can kill the level ends you are transported to another area to start again normally at a faster pace and against more and tougher baddies. The graphics are basic, but effective. The movement is frantic yet challenging. The sound effects are outstanding in my book and really add to the game. A local Rite Aid this game from late 1982 into 1983 and that’s where I played it so many times. It has since been released for various home systems and  I played it there as well. This is likely in my top ten of 1980’s games, a real hectic and addictive game.

About markmc2012

I have watched far too many horror and sc-fi shows in my life. Now I feel the need to share this wealth of knowledge and make others suffer.

5 responses to “Robotron 2084

  1. theipc ⋅

    My favorite video game ever!!!!

  2. drhumpp

    Never played this, but you make it sound fun. I’ll have to poke around online and see if I can find it.

  3. Definitely seek it out. I loved it 30 some years ago and it still holds well today.

  4. One memory I have is of being off school because of frozen pipes at the school on a frigid day in middle school. So the school bus drove us back home like a minute after we’d got there. My mom was just getting ready to go out to Rite Aid to get some medicine she needed so she took me with her. When there she gave me money to get s Cracked magazine, a Hulk comic and a few quarters to play Robotron 2084. Then we went to lunch in Wendy’s on the way home. It was a good day.

Leave a Reply

