Posted on

Space spoof week-Galaxina

galaxinacap1 Galaxina-2 936full-galaxina-photo galaxina

1980

This space patrol ship is staffed by several dudes and one robot who looks like a female. The Captain’s last name is Butt…wahahaha that is so hilarious…wahahaha oh wait it’s not that funny at all. Geez hope this gets better. The robot is the title character and all the male crew members think she’s hot, but wish she was a real woman. The other two main crewmembers are Thor and Buzz. There are some sort of laser fights between space ships. then the police cruiser are ordered to go find the crystal the Blue Star. Somewhere around this time crew visits an alien brothel, the captain give birth to an alien, Galaxina changes her programming to give herself emotions and oh man is this movie still going on? I think there is a Uranus joke -hehehe that’s rich, that’s almost as good as Captain Butt! Then Galaxina gets the Blue Star, but she is grabbed by an intergalatic motorcycle gang and taken to their hang-out on a multi-colored planet. Oh, come on this is making Ice Pirates look funny. However this does provide a little bit of action as Thor and Buzz swoop in and rescue Galaxina. They blaze off away from the motorcycle gang or perhaps they are trying run out on this film. Then there is some more talking blah, blah, drone, drone, drone. Galaxina now loves Thor since she changed her programming and roll the credits for those that are still here and awake.

The negatives-Didn’t you read the review above? The movie spoofs Star Wars, Star Trek, Alien and others. However the problem is other than a very few mild chuckles the film just isn’t funny. It’s not even silly, but rather it’s dull and flat. That’s how it starts because it falls apart as it goes along. I’ve heard the cast and mostly Dorothy Stratten get blasted for this, but really it’s the fault of the writers. The script is so poor that even delivering it the best you could wasn’t going to make it work.

The positives- Let’s face it the only real reason this film is known is because Playboy playmate Dorothy Stratten was in it. Her death shortly after it’s release possibly made more people seek out this film years later. For her part she looks lovely (there is no nudity in this film). Despite being a spoof I actually think the ships both the exteriors and the interiors looked good for the time. I actually found myself rewinding a couple of times to check out the ship designs. I guess perhaps this film deserves some credit for being one of the first space spoofs.

Overall this a tough film to make it through and honestly this was second try and I probably only made it because I had already committed to writing it.

8 responses to “Space spoof week-Galaxina

  1. Space spoof week rolls on with Spaceballs on Wednesday.

  2. drhumpp

    I was pretty indifferent to this one. I didn’t feel like I wasted my time, but I’ve never had any urge to watch it again. I think I watched it after seeing Star 80.

    • Visually it had moments, but the script was a lot of filler. It came in one those 50 sci-fi movie sets that was like $8 so I didn’t waste much on it except the time I spent watching it.

      • drhumpp

        I’m sure you’re right. I haven’t seen it in probably 15 years and it was just a curiosity piece to see who Stratton was.

        Usually those big movie collections have at least a few things on there that make them worth the price. I find them great late night viewing.

  3. I have watched maybe 15-20 films on the set so far and it’s already worth what I paid for it.

  4. Rincewind

    Oh come on it got Dorothy Stratten in it. I’m happy 🙂 but no, definitely not revisiting this movie unless someone threatens me with bodily harm. Sorry Dorothy.

Leave a comment