It came from the bargain bin: Coming soon

Okay, so I am going to start up another new segment. However unlike most other new segments I start I thinknI can and will actually keep this going. The criteria for films for this segment are…

1-To qualify as bargain bin it had to have cost $5 or less new.

2-It needs to be a film I have never seen or it’s been so long since I’ve seen it that I don’t remember it very well.

* I will allow a double disc set to be reviewed in one entry.

I will review them the way I normally review any other film however I will include…

1-background info such as where I got it, when I got it and how much it cost.

2-after the review I evaluate whether or not it was worth what I paid for it and why.

I’ll start this segment with the 1994 film Street Fighter likely tomorrow. Hope you’ll enjoy it.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

d Megan-Fox-in-Teenage-Mutant-Ninja-Turtles-2014-Movie-Image-2 teenage-mutant-ninja-turtles-gallery-13 Teenage_Mutant_Ninja_Turtles_film_July_2014_poster

2014

This is a story about a courageous female newsperson whose father was in on creating these powerful turtles, she discovers a metallic coated evil dude, she tries to convince her silly co-workers about what is going on but they go on being stupid and….then she. Wait, a turtles movie is supposed to be about the Turtles you know like the title says. However in this version April seems to take priority. Eventually we see the lumpy looking turtles and they do some fighting in between April’s parts. Shredder looks he was built by a bored hardware store employee, but he gives his evil portrayal-wahaha or something. There’s a meany pants scientist in this too and he has some lame brilliant plan that can’t possibly fail-okay of course it fails. The personalities of the turtles are developed more and more as the film progresses…just kidding this is the April show so the turtles just whiz bang in for some brief action here and there. There are some explosions, some fights, some lame jokes and eventually the film ends. Good Lord roll the credits.

The negatives- Megan Fox is on screen way too much and she is awful like make me cringe kind of awful. She seems to think that moving her lips a lot counts as acting-it doesn’t. I knew they changed the turtles origin story and that’s okay, but tying April into it via her dad doesn’t work for me. The Turtles started out okay, but they never really develop their personalities that much. Raphael and Leonardo in particular are left as shadows of the characters we have come to know. The plot and the villains felt poorly planned out. The action was okay, but not enough to make up for the other many shortcomings.

The positives-I thought I’d hate the look of the turtles going into the film, but overall I was okay with it.

As much as I was hoping to find something about this one to like it just had far too many problems. I usually love the turtles in the comics, the cartoons and the previous films. The writers of this one didn’t respect the turtles enough to develop their characters, make them the stars or give them a good story to work around. When you take characters who have been around for awhile you at least to try and understand what it is about those characters that fans have liked for decades and that sure didn’t happen for this film.